Lamar Jackson Wins Heisman Trophy

    Lamar Jackson won the 2016 Heisman Trophy. The Cardinals QB is the award's youngest winner.

    December 11, 2016

    Lamar Jackson claimed the 82nd Heisman Trophy in New York City on Saturday night. The Cardinals QB became the award’s youngest winner.

    Wherever Lamar Jackson’s football career takes him, he’ll always be one thing: a Heisman Trophy winner.

    The Louisville quarterback claimed college football’s most prestigious individual award in New York City on Saturday night, becoming the sixth player who was either a redshirt freshman or a sophomore to win the Heisman. All have won the award since 2007, when Florida’s Tim Tebow became the first.

    “It’s crazy,” said Jackson. “Oh snap. It’s crazy.”

    It was a record-setting season for Jackson, who passed for 3,390 yards and 30 touchdowns with nine interceptions. The sophomore also recorded 1,538 yards and 21 touchdowns on the ground. He was the third player in FBS history to have 30 passing touchdowns and 20 or more rushing scores in one season, joining fellow Heisman winners Cam Newton and Tim Tebow. He averaged 410 total yards per game this fall.

    Jackson, who became the first Cardinals player to win the award, set the ACC’s single-season mark for touchdown responsibility (51) and the single-game total offense record (610 yards in a Week 2 win over Syracuse).

    The Cardinals signal-caller became the youngest Heisman Trophy winner—five days younger than Jameis Winston when he claimed the award as the Florida State QB.

    Who finished second?

    That would be Clemson QB Deshaun Watson, who passed for 3,914 yards and 37 touchdowns (which led the ACC this season) against 15 interceptions. He rushed for 529 yards and six more scores.

    The Oklahoma QB-WR tandem of Baker Mayfield and Dede Westbrook finished No. 3 and No. 4, respectively, while Michigan defender Jabrill Peppers came in fifth.

    Jackson cannot declare early for the NFL Draft until the end of next season, so he will have a chance to join Ohio State’s Archie Griffin as a back-to-back winner. Griffin did it in 1974 and 1975, and no one else has won two.

    Jackson next takes the field when Louisville faces LSU in the Citrus Bowl on Dec. 31.

    MORE: Former Baylor QB Jarrett Stidham Transfers To Auburn


    Have the full Stadium experience

    Watch with friends

    Get rewards

    Join the discussion